About the Department
Programs & Admissions
Curricula & Courses
Faculty & Staff
Physics Intranet
Community Outreach
Old Seminars
Visitors Counter
Home arrow About the Department

About the department

The mission of the Physics Department is captured by the triangle of teaching, research, and innovation. Physics is the science that deals at the most fundamental level with matter and energy, their interactions, and their transformation. It presents major challenges to the human mind and provides the foundation for engineering and other sciences. By pursuing research at the frontier of knowledge and innovation at the cutting edge of technology, it is the ultimate purpose of the physics faculty to preserve and nurture a sense of wonder about the natural world, and to impart it to the students as a driving motivation for learning. 

The Department concentrates its resources on condensed matter physics with potential relevance to technological industry. There is a strong offering of core subjects in the fundamental fields of physics. Undergraduates are encouraged to select areas of concentration in the traditional or applied subjects of physics. Faculty and postgraduate research focuses on optical, condensed matter and statistical physics, and includes physics of lasers, solid state, mesoscopic systems, devices, materials, thin films, surfaces, interfaces, liquid crystals, polymers and composites. A focused area of interdisciplinary collaboration that has emerged over the years is nanomaterials and nanotechnology.

A number of central service facilities and interdisciplinary research institutes provide support for the Department's research programs. Particularly relevant are the Materials Characterisation and Preparation Facility and the Microelectronics Fabrication Facility. The Department is closely linked with HKUST's William Mong Institute of Nano Science and Technology (WMINST). State-of-the-art facilities for large scale and intensive scientific computation include optical-fibre distributive networks, various workstations, and a parallel processing platform of clustered PCs. The Department has laboratories for laser physics, photonics, new thin-film materials, surface/interface studies, solid state properties, polymers and liquid crystals, nanostructured layers and clusters, and non-linear dynamics.

Introduction to the Department (from the June 2004 issue of the AAPPS Bulletin)






 物理系介紹[原文刋於AAPPS Bulletin Vol. 14, No. 3, 26-31 (2004)]

Copyright © 2007 Department of Physics, HKUST. All rights reserved.