About the Department
Programs & Admissions
Curricula & Courses
Faculty & Staff
Physics Intranet
Community Outreach
Old Seminars
Visitors Counter
Home arrow Programs & Admissions arrow Programs for postgraduates

Programs for postgraduates
The Physics Department offers 2 research postgraduate programs: MPhil in Physics and PhD in Physics.
An MPhil in Physics is designed to prepare students for teaching, further postgraduate studies, or advanced work in industry. Students are expected to complete the coursework requirements during their first two semesters of study. A PhD in Physics is conferred primarily in recognition of breadth of scholarship, depth of research, and power to investigate problems independently and efficiently.
In fulfilling the degree requirements, students are expected to undertake course work, attend and present seminars, and conduct thesis research. Students are required to register for a combined total of 12 credits or more of specific courses. For details of the curriculum, please refer to the link of the electronic version of the Catalog of Postgraduate Programs and Curricula:
The School of Science and the School of Engineering jointly offer Nano Science and Nano Technology Postgraduate Programs that integrate different disciplines in both science and engineering. The School of Science offers MPhil and PhD Program in Nano Science and Technology and Physics Department is one of the five departments participating in this program.  For details, please refer to its web site:

Copyright © 2007 Department of Physics, HKUST. All rights reserved.